Gross Profit Reporting Instructions for Google Analytics
- Create a COGS custom metric in Google Analytics. Go into Google Analytics Admin Property Custom Dimensions Custom Metrics.
- Do a data import of all products with COGS. There are 2 ways to import your product COGS into Google Analytics.
How to track product Performance in Google Analytics?
To start investigating your product performance data, go to the Product Performance report in Google Analytics (Conversions > Ecommerce > Product Performance). The Product Performance report shows which products are most frequently viewed, added to cart, and ultimately purchased in a transaction.
How do you find profits in Google Analytics?
To view Google Analytics eCommerce sales (number of transactions) and revenue data, navigate to Acquisition » All Traffic » Source / Medium. Then click on E-commerce under the Explorer tab. In the table, you’ll see multiple columns, including revenue and transactions.
How do I find Add to cart data in Google Analytics?
To view Add to Cart, go to Insights » Reports » eCommerce. Here you can see how your online store is performing. Find out the conversion rate, number of transactions, revenue, and average order value. Plus, you get to see your top products, their order quantity, percentage of sales, and total revenue.
How do you add margin to cost of goods sold?
A margin, or gross margin, shows the revenue you make after paying COGS. To calculate margin, start with your gross profit (Revenue – COGS). Then, find the percentage of the revenue that is gross profit. You can find the percentage of revenue that is gross profit by dividing your gross profit by revenue.
How do I see purchases in Google Analytics?
You can see product and transaction information, average order value, ecommerce conversion rate, time to purchase, and other data. Find the reports
- Sign in to Google Analytics.
- Navigate to your view.
- Open Reports.
- Select Conversions > Ecommerce.
How do you track product performance?
Key Product KPIs
- Monthly recurring revenue (MRR)
- Customer Lifetime Value (CLTV or LTV)
- Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)
- Daily Active User/Monthly Active User ratio.
- Session duration.
- Traffic (paid/organic)
- Bounce rate.
- Retention rate.
How do I set up Ecommerce in Google Analytics?
Enable Ecommerce for a view
- Sign in to Google Analytics.
- Click Admin, and navigate to the view you want.
- In the VIEW column, click Ecommerce Settings.
- Set Enable Ecommerce to ON.
- Click Save.
How do you track profit margins?
How to find profit margin: 3 steps
- Determine your business’s net income (Revenue – Expenses)
- Divide your net income by your revenue (also called net sales)
- Multiply your total by 100 to get your profit margin percentage.
How do you track revenue?
One of the best ways to track how much money is coming into your business is to divide your revenue into a number of different streams, based on the source of the income. If necessary, you might want to create categories based on location, too.
How do I add an Add to Cart goal in Google Analytics?
Set up an event goal
- Navigate to Admin in Google Analytics -> Goals (under View)
- Click ‘New Goal’
- Choose ‘Custom’ as a goal type.
- Give your new cool goal a name.
- Choose ‘Event’ as the goal type.
- Click ‘Continue’
- Add your goal Category, Action and/or Label.
- Verify the goal.
How is add to cart calculated?
You can calculate your add-to-cart rate by dividing the number of sessions during which a user added a product to their cart by the total number of website sessions in a given period. Then multiply that number by 100.
How is add to cart value calculated?
Add to Cart Rate is the percentage of visitors who add at least one item to their cart in a given session. In order to calculate your add-to-cart conversion rate, you take the total number of sessions where someone adds an item to the cart and divide it by the total number of sessions.
How do you get the cost of goods sold?
The basic formula for cost of goods sold is:
- Beginning Inventory (at the beginning of the year)
- Plus Purchases and Other Costs.
- Minus Ending Inventory (at the end of the year)
- Equals Cost of Goods Sold. 4
How do you find COGS from sales and margin?
Subtract your desired gross profit margin percent from 100 percent, since you don’t yet know your actual sales number. For instance, if you choose a gross profit margin of 60 percent (0.60), your calculation result is 40 percent, or 0.40. This means that you expect 40 percent of each sale to go to COGS.
What’s included in the cost of goods sold?
Cost of goods sold (COGS) refers to the direct costs of producing the goods sold by a company. This amount includes the cost of the materials and labor directly used to create the good. It excludes indirect expenses, such as distribution costs and sales force costs.